Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Pune Warriors Cricket Team Yuvraj Singh Captain

Pune Warriors Cricket Team

Pune Warriors (Marathi: पुणे वॉरियर्स) is the Pune franchise for the Indian Premier League. The franchise is owned by the Sahara Group. Geoff Marsh is head coach, former England all rounder Dermot Reeve is the assistant coach. On 8 March 2011, The Warriors announced that Yuvraj Singh will be their captain for IPL 2011.
In March 2010, the franchises of Pune and Kochi joined the league of eight original IPL teams for the 2011 season. Sahara Adventure Sports Limited had made the winning bid of $370 million for the Pune franchise. The bid is the highest bid by any company in the short history of IPL.

Coach: Geoff Marsh
Founded: March 21, 2010
Home ground: MCA Pune International Cricket Centre (Capacity : 55,000)
Owner: Sahara Group
Official website: www.sahara.in

Franchise History

During the 2010 franchise auction for two new Indian Premier League teams, Subrata Roy of Sahara Group purchased the Pune IPL team. Pune and Kochi will join the current eight teams from the fourth season of IPL to be held in 2011. On March 22, 2010 Sahara group bought Pune IPL team for Rs 1,702 crore.The Videocon Group lost the bid for the Pune IPL Team. It was named Sahara Pune Warriors on 24 April 2010 at a function held at Pune.[

Current squad

15  Graeme Smith
21  Callum Ferguson
84  Mohnish Mishra
--  Dheeraj Jadhav
--  Manish Pandey
--  Abhishek Jhunjhunwala
--  Harshad Khadiwale

09  Alfonso Thomas
25  Murali Karthik
36  Wayne Parnell
64  Ashish Nehra
75  Jerome Taylor
--  Kamran Khan
--  Ganesh Gaikwad
--  Bhuveneshwar Kumar
--  Rahul Sharma
--  Shrikant Mundhe

Wicket Keepers
11  Robin Uthappa
16  Tim Paine

All Rounders
08  Nathan McCullum
09  Angelo Mathews
10  Mitchell Marsh

12  Yuvraj Singh (Captain)
77  Jesse Ryder
--  Mithun Manhas

Support Staff
Head Coach:  Geoff Marsh
Assistant Head Coach:  Dermot Reeve


  1. IPL 2011 is gonna held from April 8 to May 28 2011, Watch all the IPL News, IPL Live Score,IPL Teams,IPL Standings here on IPL 2011



Latest Blog Update

    follow me on Twitter