Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Yuvraj Singh not out 62 Pune Warriors 141/6 Albie Morkel injured, Pune bat against Chennai

Yuvraj Singh not out 62 Pune Warriors 141/6 Albie Morkel injured, Pune bat against Chennai 

Albie Morkel injured, Pune bat against Chennai

Toss Pune Warriors chose to bat v Chennai Super Kings

Yuvraj Singh beat MS Dhoni at the toss stakes for the second time running, but this time chose to bat first. The decision could have been prompted by his team's poorly planned chase in the previous game, as well as the oppressive conditions at the DY Patil Stadium, which Dhoni felt were worse than in Chennai. Yuvraj felt a score of 160-170 would be defendable against a Chennai side that has chased only once, unsuccessfully, this season.

Both teams beefed up their seam resources at the expense of a spinner, on a wicket that was expected to provide good bounce. Pune left out Nathan McCullum, giving Mitchell Marsh his first game with them. Chennai were hamstrung by an injury to Albie Morkel, which paved the way for Nuwan Kulasekara's IPL debut. Offspinner Suraj Randiv was benched in favour of Tim Southee.

Chennai Super Kings: 1 Michael Hussey, 2 M Vijay, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 S Badrinath, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 S Anirudha, 7 Nuwan Kulasekara, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Doug Bollinger, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Shadab Jakati

Pune Warriors: 1 Jesse Ryder, 2 Mohnish Mishra, 3 Manish Pandey, 4 Robin Uthappa (wk), 5 Yuvraj Singh (capt), 6 Mithun Manhas, 7 Mitchell Marsh, 8 Rahul Sharma, 9 Jerome Taylor, 10 Murali Kartik, 11 Alfonso Thomas

Pune Warriors 141/6 (20/20 ov)
Chennai Super Kings 0/0 (0.5/20 ov)
Chennai Super Kings require another 142 runs with 10 wickets and 19.1 overs remaining

Nitin Sundar is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Pune Warriors innings (20 overs maximum)

View dismissalJD Ryderc Anirudha b Bollinger191240158.33
View dismissalMD Mishrac Jakati b Bollinger290022.22
View dismissalMK Pandeyc Ashwin b Southee10131076.92
View dismissalM Manhasb Kulasekara04000.00
Yuvraj Singh*not out624334144.18
View dismissalRV Uthappac Anirudha b Ashwin312222140.90
View dismissalMR Marshc Ashwin b Bollinger11151073.33
JE Taylornot out120050.00
Extras(lb 1, w 4)5
Total(6 wickets; 20 overs)141(7.05 runs per over)

Did not bat M KartikR SharmaAC Thomas
Fall of wickets1-22 (Ryder, 3.1 ov)2-22 (Mishra, 3.3 ov)3-28 (Manhas, 5.2 ov)4-41 (Pandey, 7.2 ov),5-83 (Uthappa, 13.2 ov)6-123 (Marsh, 18.2 ov)
View wicketKMDN Kulasekara302618.66(1w)
View wicketsDE Bollinger412135.25(1w)
View wicketTG Southee403318.25(2w)
View wicketR Ashwin402917.25
SB Jakati201507.50
SK Raina301605.33
Chennai Super Kings innings (target: 142 runs from 20 overs)RB4s6sSR
MEK Husseynot out05000.00
M Vijaynot out0000-
Total(0 wickets; 0.5 overs)0(0.00 runs per over)
To bat SK RainaS BadrinathMS Dhoni*†S AnirudhaR AshwinKMDN KulasekaraDE BollingerSB JakatiTG Southee
AC Thomas0.50000.00
Match details
Toss Pune Warriors, who chose to bat
Player of the match tba
Umpires Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and SL Shastri
TV umpire AM Saheba
Match referee GF Labrooy (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire NA Patwardhan
Match notes
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 37 runs, 3 wickets)
  • Pune Warriors: 50 runs in 8.6 overs (54 balls), Extras 1
  • Pune Warriors: 100 runs in 15.5 overs (95 balls), Extras 2
  • Yuvraj Singh: 50 off 39 balls (3 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • Innings Break: Pune Warriors - 141/6 in 20.0 overs (Yuvraj Singh 62, JE Taylor 1)
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory)

RSS Feeds: Nitin Sunda

No comments:

Post a Comment


Latest Blog Update

    follow me on Twitter