Thursday, April 7, 2011

Indian Premier League IPL 4

Indian Premier League IPL 4

2011 Indian Premier League

The 2011 Indian Premier League season, abbreviated as IPL 4 or the 2011 IPL, will be the fourth season of the Indian Premier League, established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. The tournament will be hosted by India and the opening ceremony will be held in Chepauk Stadium, Chennai, the home venue for 2010 Champions Chennai Super Kings. The season will run from April 8 to May 28 2011. The season saw the addition of new teams: Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.


With the introduction of 2 new teams, a new ten-team format was created. This new format consists of 74 matches and was introduced as retaining the previous format would result in 94 matches, significantly greater than the 60 matches from the previous season, where teams compete in a double round-robin tournament. The knockout stage was changed to a playoff format. If a match ends in a tie, a Super Over will be played to determine the winner.
The ten teams are divided into two groups of five. In the group stage, each team plays 14 games: facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times. A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
Each team plays the team in the same row and the same column twice, and all others once. For instance, Pune Warriors will play Chennai Super Kings and the other Group A teams twice but the other teams from Group B (Kolkata Knight Riders, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals) only once. Similarly Kochi Tuskers Kerala will play Delhi Daredevils and the other Group B teams twice but all other teams from Group A only once.

Administrator(s) BCCI
Cricket format Twenty20
Tournament format(s) Group stage and playoffs
Host(s) India
Champions TBD
Participants 10
Matches played 74
Man of the Series TBD
Most runs TBD
Most wickets TBD
Official website

Group A                   Group B
 Deccan Chargers Kolkata Knight Riders
 Delhi Daredevils Kochi Tuskers Kerala
 Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore
 Mumbai Indians         Rajasthan Royals
 Pune Warriors India Chennai Super Kings


No comments:

Post a Comment


Latest Blog Update

    follow me on Twitter